About Me

About Me

I am Karolien, a 44 year old mother of 2 young adults. One still living with us at 18 years of age but chomping at the bit to leave home. The other, our 20 year old daughter, is currently living in Cape Town and the rest of us are living in Mauritius. My blog is about ‘preparing’ for ‘life after kids’ so to speak. It’s been a tough ride but I made it this far with two amazing kids to show for it.

The Family

I have been solo parenting for the past 20 years and am now slowly seeing the light at the end of the tunnel with the girl-child having sort of left the nest and the X-man planning to do so at some point in the foreseeable future.

I’m looking forward to their journeys as they prepare for adulthood but am also filled with a slight feeling of dread. I’m looking forward to clean kitchen counters and food in the fridge but I also know that I’ll miss them as we’ve been a threesome for so long with dad always away at sea.

It is a new chapter. One that scares and also excites me. A necessary journey for all of us. After all, kids grow up and they need to make their own way in life eventually. We can’t keep them from living their best lives just to keep them close.

I am a hobby collector of note and always busy with some sort of art or craft thing. Jane of all trades but mistress of none… I like baking cakes but dislike to decorate them. I would much rather stick my hands in a bowl of cement to get creative than in a sink of dishes! 🙂 I’ve been know to do some woodwork, paint like the amateur I am, anything from decoupaging to jewelry making. Trying some crocheting at the moment, will let you know how that works out for me. ;p

Photography has always been a passion and I am never without my camera to my family’s regret. Blogging is something I do to keep sane, I don’t care who reads it and who don’t. Whether they enjoy it or not. I am over 40, I don’t need approval, I would like people to read it and love every word I write but I am old enough to know that taste differs vastly. What works for me doesn’t necessarily work for the next person. My blogs are NOT serious fact driven articles. It is wholly about my life experiences on the island.

My blogs also appear on Hive where anyone can sign up to blog, share photos or thoughts, whatever your interests may be. By doing so one can earn some cryptocurrency. If you want to know more don’t hesitate to ask. My profile link is My HIVE Profile

We’ve relocated to Mauritius 18 months ago to join hubby whom has been working here for 4 years. In the meantime the kids have decided island living is not quite their thing. How long will we be here? Not a clue. The time-line more or less seems like two years, after that, who knows. 🙂 For the time-being we live on a rock in the middle of the ocean bracing the winds of change. We never know where we might end up next….Such is the life of a fishermen’s wife.

Mauritius Sunset

Follow me on FB at https://www.facebook.com/karolien.thereslifeafterkids/

On instagram http://@karolienthereslifeafterkids

We also have a family Insta page http://@our_mauritius_moments

#Mauritius #cryptocurrency #bitcoin #alternativeincomestreams #investment